One Liberation Under God

a documentary film project. an experiment in love.

The Mission

Leave a comment

Hey everyone! I just wanted to take a second and elaborate on the vision for this project. Here are a few key points:

1. This project is about communication, not debate! This is the single most important point to make. The idea is to gain understanding, and consider points of view with which we don’t agree.

2. The goal is to give equal voice to all points of view. If you’ve seen the promo video, you may be wondering where the straight people are! I included photos of the participants who sent them to me. There are a few other folks who fall on the more conservative side of the scale, and they will be included in the film; they just weren’t included in the video. That being said, I would like to schedule more interviews with more conservatively-minded people, as right now only 15% of our interviewees fit that criteria.

3. I want to avoid confrontation at all costs. I realize, because of the nature of this project, feathers may be ruffled. But that is certainly not my intent. As someone who cares deeply about what others think (however right or wrong that may be), I pledge to take every necessary step toward life-giving conversation. I also pledge to avoid anything that can be construed as mean, hateful, or arrogant.

4. This project is a safe space for all people. No matter what you believe, you will be respected. That goes for the participants and viewers alike.

I’d like to thank all of you who have shown support and encouragement to me in the past few days. It makes me so happy to share in this experience with all of you, and to know that you believe in this project.

Stay tuned for updates; I’m sure there will be many!

xoxo,
Mandy

Author: Mandy

Journalist. Blogger. Dreamer. Theology Nerd. There is a chasm between the Church and the LGBT community, which primarily stems from ill-education and a lack of understanding about exactly what it means to be gay. I'm a very small part of a giant movement that is trying to bridge that gap. I'm not here to change people's minds. I'm just here to advocate loving and life-giving conversation on a topic that is too often silenced. As someone on both sides of the issue, I can accurately say, love is the answer. And we can learn how to love each other without having to agree on everything.

Leave a Reply

